Meatless Monday Fail and a Week Without Running

Hi guys! I hope your week is off to a good start. Mine is crazy busy already and I am sooo antsy for spring break to start! I fly off to Florida on Saturday morning to visit my sister and run my first half-marathon (!!!) and I’m chomping at the bit to get going! Before then, I have to get through a presentation in Spanish, an International Accounting final, and a Business Law final. Say a little prayer for my sanity if you get a chance. :)

Alright so I must warn you that the food photos in this post are far from artistic or appealing…but my meals yesterday (although not very photogenic) were quite delicious. I woke up and did a quick weight routine and then promptly started on breakfast. I made a fried egg and ate it alongside a bagel thin. I ate one half with my egg smothered in green tobasco and topped the other with a little pumpkin, PB and banana slices. Weird yet delicious combo.

multitasking: homework and breakfast!

After scarfing the above feast and doing some last minute homework, I hopped in the shower and got ready to start my day. While I was packing my lunch to take to work, I decided to try to go meatless for a day. I’ve been wanting to institute “Meatless Mondays” for some time now, so I figured why not today? I packed a big tupperware of bean salad (chickpeas, black beans, red onion, lemon juice, salt, pepper, red wine vinegar, and EVOO) with fat free feta, some carrots, a strawberry Chobani and half of a grapefruit. I also brought a Luna bar in case I was feeling snacky later.

prior to being stuffed into my glamorous target lunch bag

Um…HOLY HUGE LUNCH! I always bring way too much food (hey, better than not enough!) And that bean salad totally filled me up! I ended up not eating the Luna bar and saving the carrots for a post work snack.

For dinner, I planned on making roasted green beans, as inspiration from Julie and Jess, so I preheated the oven, sprinkled my beans with salt and pepper and popped them in the oven for about 15 minutes.

And this is where meatless Monday failed. Or rather I failed.

I mindlessly made a turkey sandwich to eat alongside my green bean “fries.”

Halfway through eating it, I literally said “CRAP!” out loud. Haha. Oh well. I shall try again soon! (Probably not next Monday, because I will be at my sister’s house and I will eat whatever she feeds me! :) )

Seriously though, these green bean fries were the BEST! I might have to try them again tonight. I dipped them in a big gob of dijon and inhaled them.

crunchy and delicious!

So other than eating, guess what else I’ve been doing?

A whole lot of running cross training.

I mentioned this weekend that I’ve been icing my left leg because I’ve been experiencing a bit of pain…guys, I’ve been experiencing A LOT of pain. And it’s starting to worry me a little bit. I really need to get to the doctor and get it checked out in case of the possibility of a stress fracture or another serious injury. But I’m honestly too stubborn to do so before the race this weekend. I’ve been looking forward to it FOREVER and I refuse to not run it!

So after a talk with my parents about what this week should look like, we decided that it is smartest for me to take the week off of running so that my leg can be fully rested for race day.

So instead of the 4 mile run that was on the agenda for my training, I woke up this morning and did 40 minutes on the eliptical followed by 30 minutes on a bike.

Seriously. It killed my soul.

I hate cross training!!! Luckily I brought along a Jodi Picoult book to make time pass quicker…

only 50 pages in, but i like it so far!

I know that I’ll be happy that I took the week off running when I run this weekend. Hopefully I will be full of energy and be able to rock my very first half marathon!! :)

I hope you guys are having a great week! I’ll try to post again soon amidst all of the craziness of midterms!

xoxo

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about the leg–take care of that. Rest it well and don’t push the pace too much at the race if it gets real uncomfortable. I know the feeling of being injured and as hard as it is… baby it cause it’ll heal faster! Good luck with the exams…I’m right there with you on that front too! :)

    Reply
  2. Aww…I’ve done that “omg” moment when I’ve been trying to not eat meat or something else in my diet as well! Good luck with the half marathon, I’m excited to see how it turns out for you!

    Reply
  3. Um. Green bean fries. BEST vegetable “recipe” EVER. I got it from Jess at HowSweet and my life changed. It was definitely blog-worthy! (http://goodfoodgoodhealth.blogspot.com/2011/02/tastebud-ecstasy.html)

    I love the elliptical for my cardio! But I’ve got to have a good book/magazine or it’s drudgery. As boring/un-fun it may be for you, I’m sure you’ll be glad for having cross-trained when you’re crossing the finish line in a week!

    Reply
  1. A Common Theme | healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

