My Airport Conundrum

Alright, so I have some good news…and I have some bad news.

Good news first!

I am officially DONE with all midterms/finals for this quad! Ryan and I took our Business Final test last night and promptly went to Chipotle to celebrate, where I dominated a HUGE chicken salad. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of this masterpiece because it was sort of a spur of the moment trip, so I didn’t have my camera. But take my word for it: it was huge and delicious and I ate every.last.bite.

On to the bad news…

I am faced with a bit of an airport conundrum.

My flight to go to Florida to see my sister and run my first half marathon (!!!) leaves tomorrow morning at 6:00AM. Why is this a problem, you ask?

I have no method of getting to the airport. My original plan was to have Ryan take me, but he left for his spring baseball trip this morning at the crack of dawn. Apparently I didn’t think about that when I booked such an obscenely early ticket.

The train doesn’t run that early (since I have to be there by 5 at the latest) and I don’t really want to take a cab, because it’s close to $50 to take a cab to the airport! No thank you.

Sooooo…..I have decided that I am going to camp out in the airport tonight.

Aggressive, I know.

But I figure that if I take the train there tonight, I can just find a chair, throw a movie into my computer, eat some snacks, and hunker down until my flight leaves. Hopefully I’ll be able to get some sleep!

In preparation for such an event, I made a trip to Target yesterday for snackage/entertainment. I plan on getting dinner before I get on the train, but I know that I will be wanting snacks while I’m chillin in the airport, and I don’t wanna spend a million dollars while I’m there.

Check it out!

for my mouth

Snacks will include Chobani, bananas, a granny smith apple, a Luna bar, and some unpictured strawberries that were on sale and screaming my name. Literally. I couldn’t leave without them. I also loaded up on my favorite Extra gum because I’m a gum freak and literally spit out a piece and put in new one approximately every 5 minutes. It’s an expensive habit.

I’m also aware that there is a Red Mango in the airport, so I’m thinking some froyo will be a must….

YUM.

Entertainment shall include…

Beth Moore bible study and new "Something Borrowed" novel

I am bringing along my Breaking Free bible study by Beth Moore and the book Something Borrowed by Emily Giffin. I saw that they are making this book into a movie, and always like to read the book before seeing the film. I’ll let ya know how it is!

Speaking of this bible study, I’ve decided that instead of giving something up for lent, I would add something into my life that would strengthen my relationship with God. I know I mentioned the possibility of giving up coffee for lent, but honestly I have a feeling that all I would be doing is thinking of coffee during that time; not of the sacrifice that Jesus made for me. I am only 2 days into this study, but it’s great so far!

iPod and new movie

I am also bringing my iPod of course and this movie that I bought yesterday at Target. My mom and I saw it in theatres and I have been chomping at the bit for it to be released to DVD. It is SO cute. Please go rent/buy it right now. Or come to Midway airport tonight and watch it with me. :)

I’m also bringing along these two movies…

He's Just Not That Into You

Never Been Kissed

I’m debating whether or not to bring my Spanish homework to work on the insane load of homework that my professor assigned for over break. No me gusta.

Hopefully all of this will succeed in keeping me somewhat occupied for 10+ hours in the airport. Lord help me…

Anyways! This morning I woke up, headed to the gym and did Courtney’s 45 minute treadmill walk. Technically, today and tomorrow are supposed to be rest days since Sunday is race day, but my leg always feels better after I stretch it out, so this workout was perfect. I headed back to my apartment and made myself a BOMB breakfast.

pumpkin oats + fruit = perfection

A big bowl of pumpkin oats topped with 2 strawberries, half of banana and some frozen blueberries. And of course coffee. This breakfast was epic.

I promise there are oats under all of that fruit!

delish.

I inhaled this big bowl of satisfaction while blog stalking all of you. You should feel special.

By the way, have you guys seen Kath’s new spoons?!

Um…how frickin adorable is that?! I want one right NOW! I went to the website that she said she ordered them from and guess what I found!!

JORDAN!

YES that spoon says JORDAN! It’s a sign. I need one. There are also lots of mother’s day spoons, so I might mail one to my cute mother once May rolls around.

Currently I am finishing up my coffee and finishing up my packing until 10:30 when I’m going to yoga. I wanna get all stretched out and relaxed before race day!

I don’t know if I’m going to be able to post before then, but I will definitely let you guys know how it goes! And I’ll fill ya in on my epic airport adventure, as well. :)

Question: What’s the longest you’ve ever had to stay in an airport? How’d you entertain yourself?

Have a great weekend, friends!

xoxo

Next Post
Leave a comment

3 Comments

  1. Wow, I can’t believe you’re doing that! Good luck! I would go stir crazy in an airport, and probably just spend the $50 for a cab. Go you for being realistic haha. Have fun on your trip and good luck with your half marathon!

    Reply
  2. Looks like you’ll be having quite the party in the airport with all those fab snacks and movies! I’ve been dying to see Morning Glory (I have the biggest girl-crush on Rachel McAdams…I want to be her!), so I’m totally jealous :)

    Good luck on your race!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

