Worth the Wait

Sometimes, there are certain things that are just worth the wait.

Ryan was supposed to have Wednesday night off of baseball, so we planned to have a date night. Unfortunately, his coach ended up scheduling a 5:00 practice, which meant he wouldn’t be done until around 7:30 or so…

And although my stomach was growling roaring by the time he got off practice…

source

A date night with my adorable boyfriend was just what I needed.

And the delicious food was well worth the wait.

stir fried chicken and veggies

I cleaned by plate, helped Ryan with his pork fried rice, and gladly partook in an amazing mint chocolate chip cookie that his mom made and brought down the other day. Awesome night!

Another dinner that lived up to my expectations featured some awesome chicken sausages that I snagged at Target last weekend…

The nutritional stats on these babies is great and the ingredient list is pretty impressive as well!

chicken, water, spinach, garlic, salt and pepper!

The back of the package informed me that I could either microwave the sausage and it’d be ready in 1 minute…or I could cook it in a skillet and it’d be ready in 10.

Although I was really hungry and didn’t really wanna wait 10 minutes to eat…I decided it would taste better being cooked in a skillet.

I ate it alongside some cottage cheese, steamed mixed veggies, and spicy brown mustard. I also munched on some unpictured pretzels.

Man oh man….I highly recommend these sausages! It was sooo delicious. And I was very happy with my decision to cook it in the skillet. The 9 extra minutes was definitely worth the wait.

This morning I woke up craving a protein shake….

…but my roommate Chelsea was still sleeping and I felt rude crankin’ up the blender and waking her up.

My stomach was begging me to feed it some breakfast, but I was absolutely determined to have a shake.

At around 9:00, Chelsea finally rolled out of bed and I hurried into the kitchen to blend up a smoothie.

A few minutes later, I was enjoying a huge delicious protein smoothie. Ingredients included 6 ice cubes, 1 scoop of chocolate protein powder, 4 large strawberries, 1 frozen banana and two big scoops of plain yogurt (maybe 1/2 cup?). And believe me….it was worth the wait.

This morning I woke up with no desire to bike and elliptical like I had planned. So I didn’t go to the gym and am planning on saving my workout for after work.

I’m hoping it will be worth the wait

Ever since my race, I have had a really hard time with keeping a good workout routine. I also attribute it to the fact that my leg is still injured and I have now been unable to run for about a month. The good news is that I went into the chiropractor and massage therapist again yesterday for more deep tissue massaging. The masseuse he said that my muscles felt a lot less tight and I should be back to 100% in the next couple of weeks if I continue to stretch and drink tons of water.

I’m not gonna lie…this whole lack of running thing is really affecting me. Not only have I packed on a few pounds since I haven’t been training (which I’m really not concerned about, because I know that it’s probably good for me), but my mood has been in the dumps as well!! I’ve been spending lots of time on the bike and elliptical in an attempt to get some endorphins, but it’s just not the same!

But I know that I will be happy that I didn’t push myself when I am all healed up. And even though my leg is sore, my body is totally out of whack, and my mind is frustrated with the lack of running, I know that when I get out there again and am able to run without pain…

…it will be worth the wait.

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. That smoothie looks so good. I’ve had those sausages before and they’re too die for! Keep nursing the leg–you hit it head on, it WILL be worth the wait. =)

    Reply
  2. You’re so right, it will be worth the wait in the end!

    And I’m so proud of you for giving yourself a break in the morning when you didn’t want to bike/ellipticize! We’ve gotta watch out for burnout, right? ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

