I’m a Member of the Clean Plate Club.

I had plans to go to the gym for some elliptical action this morning, but when my alarm went off at 7, my body felt as if it had been hit by a truck.

My mind was awake…but my muscles just weren’t! So I did a few ab exercises at my apartment and decided to save my real workout for this afternoon, since I have the day off work :) I’m going to give Jenny’s elliptical workout a try!

My tummy woke up right away (as usual) and soon starting begging me for breakfast. Upon opening my cabinet, I discovered this…

Yes, that is an [almost] empty jar of PB & Co’s Cinnamon Raisin Swirl. You may remember my first experience with this lovely peanut butter, so you should know that my first reaction to finding this empty jar was utter despair.

However, my disappointment quickly vanished when I realized that an empty PB jar only means one thing…OIAJ!!! I’ve been excited to eat my oatmeal out of this baby since I first bought it. Needless to say, breakfast was epic. 

a big latte and a fantastic jar of oats!

Who invented OIAJ? I would like to give them a kiss.

in the mix: 1/3 cup oats, 2/3 cup water, banana & strawb slices!

It’s not exactly the most beautiful breakfast…but it was seriously delicious.

In about 5 minutes flat, this…

jar full of oaty goodness

turned into this…

jar full of nothing

I’m definitely a member of the clean plate jar club!

I’ve always been a good eater, but I feel like within the past couple of years, I have become an extremely dedicated member of the clean plate club! I was talking to my mom about this weekend; if there is a bite or two of food left on my plate, I will almost always eat it. Even if I am already stuffed!! I’ve definitely been known to use my fingers to swipe a plate or bowl clean, as well.

I kind of think that moving away from home and being responsible for buying and preparing my own food has made me more like this. Grocery shopping for myself made me realize how expensive food is, especially healthy food! I think that I always feel like I need to eat every last bite so as not to let anything go to waste.

Not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing…

But in the case of PB & Co. Cinnamon Raisin Swirl?

Letting any go to waste just seems wrong!

Any other members of the clean plate/jar/bowl/yogurt container club out there? :)

Happy Thursday, friends!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. You’ll have to let me know what you think of the workout, I’m so glad that you’re giving it a try! :)

    Can you believe that I’ve never tried OIAJ?? so many wonderful foodie things that I still need to experience!

    I’m actually not a member of the clean container club but I do always clean my plate when I serve myself. At restaurants I almost always take food home with me :)

    Reply
  2. Bailey

     /  April 28, 2011

    You know I’m a member of the clean plate, bowl, jar… pretty much anything with food club :-).

    Reply
  3. Card-carrying member of the clean-yogurt-cup club, right here!

    Reply
  4. Um yes. We are twins. I’m totally a member of the clean plate club…and I’m more than happy to be in it. Food should NEVER go to waste :)
    I need to try this PB!

    Reply
  5. Ahhh I’ve never done the OIAJ thing but luckily I have not one but TWO nearly empty jars of PB <–sooo sad!!

    The cinnamon raisin PB is my fav ever. I want some now! :)

    Reply
  6. Girl I love your header! Very legit and classy~ ;) I’m naturally a plate cleaner too, but lately I don’t do it so much if I’m full b/c I have bad indigestion hehe. My fiance always laughs though b/c whenever I take leftovers home, I’ll clean every single part of the plate and plop it onto the box, including garnishes :P

    Reply
    • Thank you!! :) So glad you stopped by!
      And I am totally with you as far as taking home leftovers! If I don’t eat everything on my plate right away, you better believe it is ALL coming home with me!! :)

      Reply
  7. Juliette

     /  August 16, 2011

    President of the Clean Plate Club right here! Even when I was a little kid I would lick my plate clean – I’ve always been a foodie, never saying no to food! Well, good food at least haha. And I always feel guilty when there’s even just a little bit of food left on my plate, so I usually finish it, no waste at my house! haha

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

