The Triple By Pass

Well hello! :)

Before I get to the title of this post, let’s catch up! How has your Saturday been going?

Mine has been a mixture of fun, productive, and delicious. And quite banana filled!

I had planned to try to sleep in this morning, but my darn body clock woke me up at 6:50 on the dot. I laid in bed for another 10 or 15 minutes, but realized that the possibility of falling back to sleep was pretty slim. So I got up and got some breakfast! :)

yogurt bowl!

I had a smoothie on my mind, but since all 3 of my roommates were still asleep, I went with craving #2 and made this big delicious yogurt bowl. In the mix was 1 cup Kashi GoLean, sliced strawberries, sliced banana, and raspberry yogurt. The star of this bowl was definitely the yogurt…

Raspberry CARBmaster

My parents started buying this CARBmaster yogurts last year as part of their low-carb diet, and I absolutely fell in LOVE with them. I don’t really watch my carbs (note the mound of cereal in my bowl!) but these babies are packed with protein and are really low in sugar. Also, they are CHEAP! I am a huge Chobani fan, but my college girl budget doesn’t really approve. I can only find them at one grocery store ┬ánearby, so I made sure to stock up last week.

Of course, coffee on the side!

DD hazelnut + half & half + cinnamon

My coffee always looks like it has floaties in it…I promise it’s just cinnamon. :)

After lounging around in bed for a couple hours, I finally decided to get to the gym for a little workout.

GOOD NEWS! My leg is on the mend!! Yesterday, I ran 3 miles on a track near my school with Ryan and hardly had any leg pain! I was so excited. My doctor told me to give him a call on Wednesday to check in and see if I need to make another appointment. I’m hoping it continues to heal! (for any new readers, I had a strained/torn muscle in my soleus! it’s not been fun…)

So today I did a little 2 mile jog on the treadmill followed by some elliptical action and abs. I requested that the guy at the front desk change the channel to the Food Network and thoroughly enjoyed all of the Cinco de Mayo inspired recipes! Paula made fish tacos and dessert quesadillas that resulted in me leaving drool marks on the elliptical.

After the gym, I was in the mood to bake! I noticed a couple of blackened bananas in the bottom of our fruit bowl yesterday and decided that some banana chocolate chip muffins sounded good…

There was no recipe following with these babies…I just decided to wing it! I knew I wanted to include oats, and decided that if I used my instant oatmeal I wouldn’t have to add as much sugar to them. So that’s just what I did! I ended up throwing in all of this…

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 packets low-sugar maple and brown sugar oatmeal
  • ~1/3 cup peanut flour
  • 1 tbs cinnamon
  • 1/2 T nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 container unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • a splash of skim milk
  • 1 egg + 1 egg white
  • 3 packets of Stevia
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips
I baked them at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. They came together really well!

the finished product

Next time, I would add more peanut flour or some peanut butter. The peanut flavor kind of got lost. But the banana chocolate chip combo was wonderful!! They’re not overly sweet, which makes them great for breakfast or a snack…not just for dessert!

While my muffins were baking away, I whipped up a huge protein smoothie for lunch. In the blender went lots of ice cubes, a frozen vanilla Carbsmart yogurt, 1/2 a banana, and a scoop of chocolate protein powder. I ate it out of a bowl, which always makes it last longer :)

cold, creamy and delicious

See what I mean about my day being banana filled?! Fine by me!

After a shower, I decided to head to a nearby cafe to work on some homework and get an iced coffee. The Perfect Cup!

I always drive by this place but have never been in. It was adorable!

cute couches and artwork

I take pictures of strangers. I'm a creep.

Very cozy and welcoming. I ordered an iced coffee w/ soy milk, doused it with cinnamon, found a table and got to work.

my cute lil work station

Of course I came equipped with snacks so that I wouldn’t be tempted by all of the amazing danishes, scones and cinnamon roles calling to me from the counter! I munched on a granny smith apple and one of my muffins while I worked away.

On the walk back to my apartment, I ran into a cute little Latino family selling fresh fruit. So naturally, I bought a box of fresh strawberries for only $1! Score!

i <3 strawbs

Alright, so finally onto the title of my post! Don’t worry – I’m not having heart surgery. I know you were really concerned. ;) I think I got roped into doing something pretty crazy…

So my friend Paige who came last weekend for Easter and her whole family are big time bikers. They participate in bike races every summer and this summer, they are doing the Triple By Pass. This race is a one day bike ride from Evergreen, CO to Avon, CO. It covers three mountain passes, over 10,000 feet in elevation, and 120 miles. IN ONE DAY!!!

When Paige mentioned it, I was like “Wow, that sounds pretty cool! I wish I could do it!”

(I have a bad habit of thinking before I speak.)

A couple of days later, my mom texted me saying that my dad signed up for the race too and wants me to do it with him.

GULP.

Okay, so I take spin classes once or twice a week…but I am by NO means a biker!! I haven’t officially registered yet, so there is still time to back out. But I am having such a hard time deciding what to do!

On one hand, I think it would be an awesome accomplishment! It would also give me a good reason to cross-train ( a TON ) and prevent me from running too much and re-injure myself.

On the other hand….it’s 120 miles in one day over 3 mountain passes!!! That’s terrifying! Also, it’s $160…which is a little pricey.

I need help! I suck at decisions…What would you do?!

Tell me about your weekend!

:)

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. This post was really fun to read! I’ve never tried cinnamon in my coffee before–I’ll have to try it!

    Reply
    • Thanks, Laura!
      I started doing cinnamon in coffee as a way to cut back on sweetener and now I love it! I’m convinced that it would be good on just about anything :)

      Reply
  2. oh thats awesome!! I totally would do that race with you. GO FOR IT!

    Reply
  3. Kathy

     /  May 1, 2011

    I loved reading your blog my cute, healthy college girl! I know you CAN do the Triple Bypass…you just have to decide if you WANT to do it. I’ll support you either way. I love you!!! xoxoxo

    Reply
  4. That coffeeshop is so cozy & cute! Sounds a lot like my Saturday–I was shacked up at Starbucks all afternoon.
    I TOTALLY encourage doing the bike ride. I too was never a biker but did a 150 mile bike ride when I was 15. It was challenging, but such a different feeling of reward than I get from running. DO ITT!!! It’s worth the $$ [plus, if your dad wants you to, ask him to help pay ;)]

    Reply
  5. Oh my god, this race sounds crazy, but so fun! I’ve never biked really at all, but that would be so fun! You should try it!

    Reply
  6. oh my goodness what a crazy and exciting race prospect! I know you can do it if you want to, it would be an amazing experience! :) Maybe ask your dad to pay for the registration since he’s wanting a racing buddy?? (Just a thought :) )

    I love the look of your smoothie bowl, so clever to freeze the yogurt to make it thick and yummy mmm mmm!

    I had a great weekend as you know with the half marathon. I’m still recovering even after 14 hours of sleep in the last 24 hours! :P I hope that you have a great start to your week!

    Reply
    • My dad definitely offered to pay, so that was nice of him :)
      I’m so glad your weekend was great, mine was too!! I hope you get all caught up on sleep and rest!

      Reply
  1. Back to reality | healthycollegegirl
  2. Things that feel sinful | healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

