What I’ve Learned Lately

1. At church, I learned…

My work matters to God

1 Corinthians 10:31 – …whatever you do, do it all for the glory of GOD.

Sometimes I feel like my job or my schoolwork is pointless, because I’m just working toward the days when I have a “real” job. I need to remember that everything in my life matters to Him, so I should do it all to the best of my ability.

2. After church, breakfast taught me…

Tre Kronor restaurant

…that sometimes all you need to have an awesome Sunday is a breakfast date with your adorable, silly boyfriend.

I promise he's not retarded

…on which you split an amazing, fruit covered belgian waffle and an omelette filled with spinach and blue cheese.

best waffle I've ever eaten

holy fluffy omelette. and those potatoes tasted like bacon. enough said.

This restaurant was featured on Diners, Drive-ins and Dives, NBD. Check it out here.

3. Sundays are made for totally lazy elliptical workouts while watching The Princess Diaries on Abc Family.

I love cheesy old Disney movies

This face perfectly describes how I felt about a hard workout today…

my thoughts, exactly.

So I kept it light. :)

4. The best way to eat a “healthy” snack like a rice cake…

My new favorite snack

…is to make it deliciously unhealthy by smothering it with peanut butter and topping it with dark chocolate chips.

Oh, and making sure to eat about 5 handfuls of chocolate chips on the side…

5. My mom really does know everything.

mom and I

She’s the first person I call when I have a problem. And she always has the perfect solution. Although, she may be tied with my gorgeous sister…

beautiful Bailey

They are my best friends.

And also…they’re both frickin’ hotties!

Although, I didn’t learn that today. I was just reminded, for the millionth time :)

6. The kindness of a stranger is an instant day-brightener.

A random guy held the door open for me at Starbucks, let me cut him in line, and then handed me a coffee collar and the cinnamon since the counter was crowded. After thanking him for the millionth time for being so¬†accommodating, he turned to me, smiled and said in a really awesome accent, “A good heart makes room for everyone. I’m just trying to make up for all of the bad hearts that fill our days.”

I’m not really sure what he meant…but it was one of the nicest things a stranger has said to me in quite some time. I left with a latte and a smile. Score.

7. Life’s short.

Too short to stress about missing workouts or eating cupcakes in fear of gaining a few pounds.

Too short to be in a sour mood.

Too short to miss out on good coffee…

…or good wine! ;)

Too short to always be a rule follower!

Too short to waste time worrying.

Give your worries to God.

Too short to wear clothes.

Well…that may be going too far.

:)

I hope you are having a joy-filled Monday.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. You’re adorable! I watched Princess Diaries last night, too! It’s such a classic. Oh, and PB + choco chips on a rice cake has been one of my fave snacks for forever!

    Reply
  2. Aw I love the Princess Diaries movie…definitely better than the sequel they made!
    That waffle looks amazing, by the way!

    Reply
  3. I love this post! always great to have reminders of how fortunate we all are.
    It’s so nice to see such love between you and your family and your boyfriend!

    I hope you have a great week! :)

    Reply
  4. You’re too adorable. I love this post! With finals, family issues, and stressing about not being prepared for my race this weekend these reminders were just what I needed! :)

    Reply
  5. Bailey

     /  May 4, 2011

    This post just brightened my day 100 times over! Love you so much, little seester!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

