New adjustments and Mood Boosters

Hi guys!

Sorry I’ve been absent since Friday…

Classes started Monday!

So I officially have 3 days of my junior year of college under my belt.

I’m not gonna lie…the past 3 days have been super overwhelming. I transferred from a university of about 1,500 undergraduates to a university of about 25,000 undergraduates.

Ummm…it’s been a bit of an adjustment, to say the least!! Between trying to find my way around campus, figuring out where to purchase textbooks and trying to get a handle on my schedule, I feel so stressed out.

In fact, when my mom walked in the door last night and asked me how my day was, I immediately burst into tears. I wonder if I’m ever going to grow out of having childish meltdowns? :)

Luckily, I’ve had a few awesome mood boosters that have helped me adjust my attitude and turn my week around. After pep talk from my wonderful parents and a Skype date with my sweet boyfriend, I was soon feeling much better.

Last night’s dinner also helped boost my mood…

Tacos!

Two crunchy ground beef soft tacos with lettuce, tomato, homemade guac, cheese, and hot sauce alongside some refried beans. Tacos used to be like my all-time favorite meal. Seriously. Whenever my mom asked for dinner suggestions when I was growing up, I’d say tacos. We haven’t had them in ages. They definitely hit the spot!

For dessert, I ate one of these gigantic peaches that my mom bought the other day:

They are from Palisade, Colorado and they are absolutely the best peaches I have EVER eaten. Mood booster? Yes.

Please notice that most of my mood boosters have to do with food. Like how I recently discovered and fell in love with this cereal…

It’s not sweet at all, but with almond milk and fresh fruit it is absolutely amazingggg.

Another mood booster of the week was that I don’t begin class until 10:00AM everyday, so I’ve gotten a couple of great workouts in the past few mornings!

Monday morning I did one of my favorite Firm video workouts.

Yesterday morning, my mom and I took my dog on a little run/walk – we walked the first mile-ish and then ran the last 2. When I got home, I did a little interval elliptical workout that looked similar to this, but I shortened it up a bit.

This morning, I headed to the gym around 6:30 and did my own thing on a spin bike while I rocked out to an awesome playlist for about an hour. I missed spinning sooo much when my knee was acting up. It felt good to be pedaling away again! Being able to run and bike without pain is definitely a mood booster.

Last mood booster of the day? Stopping at my favorite coffee shop for a blended latte.

Yes, please.

By the way, thank you so much to all of you who gave me some advice on long-distance relationships! I already miss Ryan so much! So feel free to keep the tips comin!

I hope you’re having a great week!

Have you ever transferred schools? What was the hardest thing to adjust to?

Best workout of the week?

What’s one of your guaranteed mood boosters?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

52 Comments

  1. Aw, things will get better soon! I’m sure that transferring and starting at a completely new place has to be a bit overwhelming! Also…just keep the skype dates coming :). They are fabulous! One of my guaranteed mood boosters is a good workout, some dessert, and a funny tv show or movie!

    Reply
  2. I love all of your mood boosting foods! Those peaches especially look yummy! A guarantee mood booster for me is a movie with a friend followed by froyo! :)

    Reply
  3. Aww I’m so sorry to hear that you’re having a rough time, but it’s great that you were able to appreciate the small things in life and boost your mood! I go to a huge university, so I definitely understand the frustrations that come with the size. What made you decide to transfer schools?

    Reply
    • I just really missed my family and missed Colorado. I was paying A LOT of money to be at school in chicago, so I decided I’d save some and be closer to home :) thanks for our encouragement, allison!

      Reply
  4. Ohhh man, I feel ya on the stress levels. Thankfully I am about to be done with school for a little bit, but I tell ya this summer has been one wild ride for me! Keep on top of your stuff and you will be just fine!! Plus awesome food mood boosters work great. I hope things get easier with Ry Ry
    =(..I hate being away from people. Best workout was my 4mile walk ending with a 2 mile run.

    Reply
  5. I just started my PhD at a huge school, too! It’s definitely an adjustment, but it’s so exciting. Good luck this year! (And share some recipes with your new friends. :) )

    Reply
  6. oh my gosh you and I are going through the same thing, girl. I am quite overwhelmed with college right now as well. This is my very first year and my first time away from home on my own. I know i’m in a major transition period and hopefully things will start getting easier and more comfortable soon. I love your idea of comfort! Food is definitely comforting for me, too. Hang in there, I bet things will get much better for you too once you get into the groove of things. We both just need to ride it out for a while!

    P.S. how do you order your blended latte?! I want one!!!

    Reply
    • thanks girl! my favorite coffee shop just has blended drinks on their menu, but i’m sure you can ask them to make you a blended latte just about anywhere! i usually get mine with skim milk and about half of the syrup that they usually have…they are typically way too sweet for my taste! i ordered this one sugar free, but ended up wishing that i hadn’t. i’m not a big fan of the aspartame aftertaste :-/

      Reply
  7. I feel you on the big school thing… UW-Madison has over 40,000 undergraduates alone. It took me until my junior year to finally adjust to it (and I nearly transferred every semester until then!) You’ll get into the groove, meet new people, and rock your classes! Coffee is definitely my #1 mood booster… happiness in a cup!

    Reply
  8. I know what you mean about the school thing.. my mom asked me how my day went and I also started crying! You’re not alone!! I know you’ll do great though once you get adjusted and find your way around campus :) I’m glad you were able to find some mood boosters they all seemed like good ones!
    My best workout of the week was probably my swim on Monday!

    Reply
  9. I WAS A TRANSFER STUDENT TOO!! I was miserable my freshman year of college at a very small private school up in Maine, so I transferred to a slightly larger school – William and Mary (still only 5,000 kids though haha). It was the best decision of my life….W&M will always be another home for me.

    I did recently go through kind of the same thing as you though – I started graduate school at a HUGE state university last week after 4 years in small colleges, and I’m still completely overwhelmed. It takes me half an hour to walk to class and I still get lost all the time and I only JUST figured out how to print stuff and where the library was….yeesh. I have to say that living away from campus is really nice – it’s good to get away from all that stress! – so I think you being home with your parents is going to help that A LOT.

    Love that you had your childhood comfort food on your first day! I totally did that too! I didn’t have my mom here to cook for me but I whipped up her traditional pasta sauce and made some rotini :).

    GOOD LUCK with your junior year!! so exciting!! what’s your major??

    Reply
    • So glad you understand what I’m going through, Kate! It takes me forever to walk to class. I guess that just means I’m getting a little more exercise :) my major is accounting

      Reply
  10. I completely understand where you’re coming from! I just transferred to a new college to, actually a smaller one but it’s still such an adjustment! I pretty much had a nervous breakdown too and wanted to move back to where I was before. I’m sure everything will get easier as time goes on, Good luck to you! :)

    Reply
  11. I’ve never transferred schools before (I’m even getting my masters at the same school that I did my undergrad)… I can’t even imagine how tough it is to get used to a new school! Especially one so big. I hope that as the week goes on you get more used to everything… i’m sure it will get better as you get into a routine!

    One of my guaranteed mood boosters? Starbucks. And chicken wings. not together though, that’s weird.

    Reply
  12. oh wow! im so excited for you! defs a big change with the numbers but hey.. more parties ;)

    Reply
  13. Wow, thats a huge change! Things will get better! It’s only the first week, but after a few weeks you’ll get the hang of things :) I start Monday so I’m sure I’ll be in the same position as you next week. I’m not a transfer student, but this is my first year as a full time college student (18 credits!). My best workout of the week..hm, thats a tie between yesterdays heavy weights session or todays 5 mile run.
    Keep smiling and you’ll get through this week just fine! :) Things always get better.

    Reply
  14. No joke on the overwhelming-ness, I feel ya! I graduated from a VERY LARGE high school, and my first year of College was at a very small liberal arts school.. it was certainly an adjustment!! I only did one year at that school, then took some classes at a community college, and shortly after moved out to CO! When I transferred everything out here, it was a huge pain!! They didn’t take most of my credits (like math, english, science), and I had to wait till my 23rd B-day to get residential status without my parents (they still live in Chicago).. 3 years after being out in CO!! I am still not done with school.. but hopefully one day it will be back in my cards!

    It will get easier!! Plus, now you are more then half way done with college!! WOO!!

    I LOVE Colorado Peaches.. my favorite part of the summer are those juicy bad boys…. mmmm!! I actually brought one with me to work today! Now Excuse me while I clean up the drool from my desk haha :)

    Reply
  15. oh my gosh stop it- YOU ARE SO FREAKIN CUTE!! for realllllll!!! I love your outfit :) AHH good luck adjusting- girlfrand in a bout a week or two you will be dominating your school!! i am LOVING peaches right now- gosh so freakin good! love you!

    Reply
  16. My best mood booster is either:
    A) talking to God
    B) taking to my man
    C) working out
    D) cooking

    These things are sooooo therapeutic!! And much needed :)

    Good luck in the long distance relationship! The most important thing is trust-in him, in yourself, and God! And remember it’s only for a time :) You go girl! You are an incredible inspiration to us!

    Reply
    • Beth! Thank you so much! That comment meant so much to me. The most important thing is to trust in God, without a doubt! Thank you for the wonderful reminder :)

      Reply
  17. runningperspective

     /  August 26, 2011

    GIRL GOOD LUCK WITH THIS TRANSFER!! i transferred before and I TOTALLY KNOW HOW HARD IT CAN BE! girl but you are AMAZING and have an amazing fam and awesome bf and you are gonna be able to do it!!
    fav mood boosterr….anything with chocolate and pb!

    Reply
    • Thanks so much, Emily! You’re so sweet. And chocolate and pb might be the best combination of mood boosters I have ever heard. Good frickin call :)

      Reply
  18. I totally feel you with this, girl. It’s so hard not to be close to the guy you love! I would say skype dates, and writing each other emails/letters. It’s really one of my favorite things, to get an email from my boyfriend in the morning!

    Reply
    • Aw I need to start telling Ry to send me emails!! haha we text a lot but it just feels so impersonal and you can’t communicate very well that way. Thanks for the encouragement, Alexa!

      Reply
  19. Good luck with the transfer!!!
    I transferred from the University of Vermont to UMASS (where I am now) and it was literally the best decision of my life! You are going to be just fine m’dear :D Keep us updated on how you are!

    Reply
  20. Hey I just found your blog and I love it already!
    My boyfriend and I have been doing the long distance thing for about 3 years now and I’m not gonna lie, it’s pretty tough, but you can make it a lot easier by keeping all channels of communication open :-). We text throughout the day, send the odd email or funny link and phone at least a couple of times a week. It does get easier I promise!
    Hope that helps :-)

    Reply
    • Wow, 3 years?! That is so awesome! I love hearing that other people are doing long distance and succeeding. That’s so encouraging! Thanks for stopping by and commenting! :)

      Reply
  21. Catt @ Fueled by Nature

     /  August 27, 2011

    I love your blog! I’ve never transferred schools before[thought about it from time to time] but it is definitely a challenge getting through school sometimes especially since I don’t live at home anymore. Good luck with your new school and everything!

    Reply
  22. First, your outfit in the first picture is adorable!! And I will never be too old for childish meltdowns. lol When I first moved here to Florida, I broke down almost every day for a week sobbing on my boyfriend. Things will look up with school though! I know it must be extra difficult being away from your boyfriend too..I’ve been there!

    Reply
  23. Guaranteed mood booster = ice cream! ;)

    And although I never transferred schools, I attended the University of Florida for undergrad. And I had just moved from Pennsylvania, so I didn’t know anyone. Attending a campus of 60,000+ was definitely overwhelming! I ended up joining a sorority, which helped a lot.

    Good luck to you!! :)

    Reply
    • that’s awesome that you got involved in a sorority! i think getting involved in clubs is key at a big university. i’m getting involved in my major’s club and hoping to join a bible study as well :)

      Reply
  24. jenandberries

     /  August 28, 2011

    Oh wow that sounds tough, but tacos to the rescue yay! I completely agree that good food and exercise are the ultimate happy mood boosters to help ya function and stay happy!!! I’ve never had a long distance relationship..or one which even lasted ‘long’ so will be no help on that front sorry! IWatching Friends episodes cheers me up, even for like the 47th time, they still make me chuckle and take my mind off things P.S. You have the prettiest smile :D

    Reply
  25. I’ve never transferred schools, but my brother did his sophomore year of high school! it was a hugee transition because he went from a really big public school to a school with 12 kids in his entire grade!!

    Reply
  26. Rachel

     /  August 30, 2011

    i’m in the process of transferring and i cry to my mom EVERY DAY about it! it’s so hard because my old school started classes already and i still have a WEEK before mine start!! fortunately i move into my apartment thursday, but it’s tough. especially when it’s a culture shock. the schools i’m switching between are similar in size, but one is very southern, and the one i’ll be going to is in boston, which is where i grew up, but it’s SO different than what i’m used to. i hope things get easier for you- we’ll both make it!

    Reply
    • thanks rachel!! i’m sorry that you’re having a little bit of a tough time with it too..but it’s nice to know i’m not the only one! and you’re right, we’ll both make it! :) good luck, girl!

      Reply
  1. I Love Healthy Eating Because… | healthycollegegirl
  2. Detox | healthycollegegirl
  3. Update! | healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

