Random Thoughts

Prepare yourself for the most random post in healthycollegegirl history.

I feel kind of all over the place today…I have so much I want to share with you!

I think the reason I am feeling so jittery is due to the fact that I made a 5 cup pot of coffee this morning…and demolished it all by myself.

It’s gonna be an interesting day!

Random thought #1:

I got my hair cut this weekend!

My awesome friend Kendra recently got a job in a salon, so I made an appointment with her Friday afternoon. I decided I wanted a change, so she chopped of 4 inches.

And I love it!

occasionally you gotta take the cheesy mirror pic with your phone

 Look at my cute lil ponytail!

It’s so short and fun! Excuse how disgustingly sweaty I am in that picture…I had just completed an elliptical interval workout that looked kinda like this one, and it kicked my butt!

Random thought #2:

After seeing these pancakes over on Brittany’s blog (isn’t she the cutest lil pregnant lady ever?!), I couldn’t stop thinking about them. After I finished up my elliptical workout, I had to recreat them.

Unfortunately, I discovered that we were out of bananas, so I had to modify them a bit. They still turned out amazing!

I halved Brittany’s recipe, which ended up making about 8 pancakes. Mine looked like this:

  • 3/4 c raw oats (blended in food processor)
  • 1 1/8 c whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 c milk (I used 1/2 c skim and 1/2 c almond)
  • a little less than 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 egg whites
  • about 1/4 c honey

Holy amazing pancakes, Batman.

They were thick and dense and so filling!

I topped them with a little bit of peanut butter, some frozen blueberries and a drizzle of maple syrup.

Breakfast success!

Random thought #3:

As I was flipping through the pictures on my older camera the other day, I found some photos from a fun event that I failed to share with you guys!

When the reality of Ry and I’s long distance relationship started to sink in, I realized I would love to have something around to remind me of him while he’s away. I have lots of his sweatshirts and stuff, but I kind of wanted something that we could share and switch off having.

So we decided to make a blanket! :)

We each picked out our favorite fleece fabric – Little Mermaid for me, Batman for him. We clearly are still children in a lot of ways. :)

We had a blast making it, and I have loved having it since he’s been gone.

I’m going to Chicago to visit him in October, so I’m going to take it with me then so we can switch off and he could have it.

He let me have it first since I am literally always cold. And he’s just sweet :)

Cute idea, right?!

Well I think that’s all of the randomness I have for today. I hope you’re enjoying your Labor Day weekend!

Any fun plans? Great workouts? Good food? Tell meeee! :)

Next Post
Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. Aw, I love the blanket idea–that is seriously too cute!

    Reply
  2. Your hair is super cute–just like you! I love the blanket idea.. thats so precious. Have a great day off class tomorrow =) I start again on Tuesday.. it’s my last first day of school. It’s super bittersweet!

    Reply
  3. Love the hair! I always used to try and go short but it never looked right. I think it’s because I’m really tall, so that suits you soo well!!
    The blanket idea is absolutely adorable! love it

    Reply
  4. your haircut is so cute! I desperately need to get mine done. The blanket idea is so great… and I love that you picked the little mermaid :) I’m still obsessed with Disney movies

    Reply
  5. love your hair! I tried that short cut look and I couldn’t get over it. everyone said it looked good though. the only thing I liked was the little pony. haha

    do you have the completed blanket?! I wanna see what it looks like. it’s a very cute idea and it’s so cute he’s willing to do stuff like that!

    Reply
  6. love your haircut!!! I love having my pony :) It’s not all over my back/neck when I’m working out when it’s short haha.
    I’ve made a few blankets like that but I LOVE the idea of a his and hers side!!! I’ve only made baby blankets with a patterned/plain side.
    No fun plans for me… Just studying boo!

    Reply
  7. runningperspective

     /  September 4, 2011

    I LOVE YOUR HAIR CUTT!!!!! ahh i was just thinking the other day how i wanted to cut mine to change it up YOURS LOOK SO SO CUTE!!!!<3
    and the blanket idea is SUCH A GOOD ONE!
    hope you have an awesome weekend girl!

    Reply
  8. Your haircut is soo cute!! I love that blanket idea!! I love your guys’ choices of fleece, too. Adorable.

    Reply
  9. Your blanket idea is too cute!
    And your hair looks great too! I prefer to have shorter hair, so much easier to manage and looks great of course :)

    Reply
  10. Your blanket idea is too cute!
    And your hair looks great too! I prefer to have shorter hair, so much easier to manage and looks great of course :)!

    Reply
  11. I LOVE YOUR HAIR OMGG!!! YOu look soooo freaking cute!!! LOVE LOVE. This blanket idea is amazing and I love it. Random posts are the best, I have them all too often. Haha. Those pancakes are calllling.my.name!

    Reply
  12. The short hair looks great on you! :) And cuteee blanket! My cousin and I made some for our twin cousins using the same tie method. I love those!

    Reply
  13. I did the long-distance relationship thing with my now-husband, so I can relate. For Christmas one year, he gave us both pillow cases … one had a girl blowing a kiss and the other had a guy blowing a kiss. He took his when he was traveling for work, and I always kept mine on my bed. ;)

    Reply
  14. Aw your blanket idea is so cute! And I like your haircut :). You look fabulous!

    Reply
  15. such an adorable haircut!! I love it!

    And that’s such a great idea to make something to share w/ your boyfriend – I def wanna see the ariel/batman combo in finished product! :-)

    Reply
  16. haha you are too funny with all your cute pics!! I love your haircut too. The blanket is the cutest idea ever, I never would of thought of that. Those pancakes look soo good and fluffy, I cant wait to try them!!

    Reply
  17. Love your haircut!!

    Reply
  18. The Arial blanket is s sweet! You look absolutely perfect together too :D. And wow your short hair REALLY suits you, haha those phone mirror shots remind me of being 14 and taking a ‘myspace’ photo ;p. I had a lovely workout this morning which consisted of lots of walking and running in the crisp air, didn’t get harrassed by chavs once – score! I’m with you with the always feeling cold, we need some old lady thermal undies or something ;p. Have a great day!!!

    Reply
  19. Bailey

     /  September 5, 2011

    You’re adorable! And I love you!

    Reply
  20. I LOVE YOUR HAIR GIRL! you are so freaking cute, WOW! love the looks of those pancakes too! YUMMM!

    Reply
  21. BEST FLEECE FABRIC EVER!!
    now that my hair is growing out i have been looking for cute short hairstyles, and yours is exactly what i want. as long as it turns out as gorgeous as yours looks- so lovely!! <3

    xoxo <3

    Reply
  22. Your hair is adorable!! I need to get mine cut pretty badly. And I love me some pancakes!! I seriously went through a stage last week where I had them for breakfast every day. They are just so good!

    Reply
  23. I love your haircut! So glad I found your blog today, it’s so cute :D
    Those pancakes look so thick and so good. Printing that recipe for sure !

    Reply
  24. Jessica

     /  September 13, 2011

    How did you actually make that blanket?

    Reply
  1. How to get through finals week « healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

