Detox

Well hello there! :)

How was everyone’s Labor Day weekend?

Mine was absolutely lovely. Filled with lots of family and good food.

Take a look at everything we munched on over break!

Chili relleno breakfast casserole + fresh fruit

Irish Cream coffee! :)

More peaches! 

LOTS of awesome munchies

Ryan’s mom’s bean salsa recipe (sooo good)

veggies + multi-grain scoops

AMAZING lunch: chicken with terriyaki, swiss cheese, grilled pineapple, onions, jalepeno with fresh fruit and veggie straws

the most insanely moist lemon cake I’ve ever had…not sure I wanna know what they have to put in this to make it so good :)

sweet potato chocolate chip muffins courtesy of my adorable aunt Jeanne

Chicken Salad Northwoods: wild rice, chicken, sugar snap peas, peppers, pecans avocado

Okay, these were the STAR of the weekend. Cheesecake stuffed peaches.

I am on a mission to healthify this recipe, so stay tuned for an update later on this week!

This is my cute family who came to visit for the weekend! My cousin Justin (far left) had to bring his adorable girlfriend Jenny so we could all approve. We absolutely loved her.

Well, if you know me at all, you know that I ate way too much this weekend and woke up feeling the consequences on Tuesday morning.

This seems to be a common theme with me…

So as always, a big old smoothie came to my rescue to help me detox from a long weekend of over-indulging!

I’ve also made sure to get in a couple of great workouts in the past two days, which has also helped with the detox process :)

My mom and I were joking about how we both felt not so great after this weekend of overeating, and it reminded me about the line from Never Been Kissed with Drew Barrymore, where one of the girls says,

“Alright that’s it…just water and ex-lax till prom.”

Haha!

Anyone know what I’m talking about?

Well anyways, I’m not gonna go to those extremes…I think I’ll stick to smoothies and yoga :)

Please tell me I’m not the only one who overindulged this weekend!

What was the best thing you ate over Labor Day?!

Who else is absolutely THRILLED that Pumpkin Spice is back!?!?!

:) Happy Hump Day, all!!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

38 Comments

  1. cheesecake stuff peaches sound SOOOO good!!! I don’t even care how unhealthy they are, I’d eat them! I used to love the movie Never Been Kissed… I haven’t watched it in so long though! and I definitely went and got a pumpkin spice latte yesterday.. i’m obsessed.

    Reply
  2. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  September 7, 2011

    Me me me! I’m thrilled that pumpkin spice is back :D I have an obsession with anything pumpkin, so it’s a holiday worth celebrating in my eyes.

    I know the feeling of needing a detox after a long period of not-so-perfect eats. Smoothies and green monsters are my favorite kinds!

    Reply
  3. Cheesecake stuffed peaches?! Sign me up!! I bought the most amazing organic peaches this weekend and I bet they’d be lovely with cheesecake in them. ;) Looks like you had an awesome weekend though, so all the food was worth it!

    Reply
  4. blissfulbritt

     /  September 7, 2011

    I almost passed out due to the mass amount of amazing food in this post! What a great weekend I would be disappointed if you DIDN’T overindulge. I love never been kissed. When the teacher is runnin down the stairs at the end to kiss her while the beach boys are playing is my fav part!

    Reply
  5. everything is so fresh! I LOVE THAT SALSA!

    Reply
  6. Melissa

     /  September 7, 2011

    So stoked that PS is back at Starbucks, I went there yesterday morning and was reading my book while waiting for a friend and got a short soy PSL, and then later went back and got another bigger one for a coffee date! Love pumpkin and love fall!!

    Reply
  7. Ok.. so many things here!!! First off-I Absolutely ADORE your new haircut!! SO CUTE!! I also ADORE the idea from your last post on the blanket-so clever!!

    I am so pumped for Pumpkin to return in ALL forms again!!! Especially Starbucks form :-P

    I seriously want to just dunk my head in that bowl of Bean Salsa and go to town!!! It is calling out to me right now.. must be all the yummy veggies that I’m craving as I am in “detox” mode, too!! I totally pigged out after my marathon, really, the day after is where I just went all out… so worth it though :)

    Glad you had a great holiday!!

    Reply
  8. Pumpkin spice ohhhhh man :D
    I need some of those recipes. Cheesecake stuffed peaches? Yesss palease!

    Reply
  9. Smoothies are an awesome way to ‘detox’ haha. This weekend I ate enough froyo and monster trail mix to feed a small army! hehe

    Reply
  10. Mmm those look like some yummy eats!
    Cheesecake stuffed peaches sound so delicious, I’m officially jealous as peaches are pretty much out of season here now :-(
    Looks like you had a great weekend :-)

    Reply
  11. I have never heard of cheesecake stuffed peaches, very interesting idea! If you do healthify them, I would love to see the recipe :)
    Don’t worry about indulging, you can always jump back on the health bandwagon! That’s something I am working on understanding… that whole moderation thing!

    Reply
    • i’m not going to lie…moderation is DEFINITELY something I struggle with! it seems like i am either all in or all out. but i’m working on it too!

      Reply
  12. jenandberries

     /  September 7, 2011

    Waaaah! We don’t get pumpkin spice over here, the uk government needs to sort out its priorities :p. Looks like you had a nommy weekend but smoothies sound yummy too, maybe you could try making a peach cheesecake smoothie? haha you’re definitely not alone with the overindulging feeling, it’s like a once a week occurence for me, lots of water the next day usually helps!

    Reply
    • peach cheesecake smoothie?! awesome idea!!! also, you should look up a recipe for homemade pumpkin spice lattes…i’ve done it before and it’s awesom!

      Reply
  13. Totally pumped about the pumpkin spice :). And I did overindulge this weekend as well…oh well. I just hopped right back on the healthy eating train on Tuesday!

    Reply
  14. Yummm! I love smoothies. I am SO happy pumpkin coffee is back! I haven’t gotten one yet but I did have pumpkin oatmeal this morning :D

    Reply
  15. I’ve seen peaches and honey crisp apples all over the blog world and it makes me so sad because I don’t have any :(
    All those munchies look so so good- I’m digging the smoothie! :D I love extra big smoothies like that!!

    Reply
  16. Ahh I love fresh peaches–so juicy and delicious!

    Reply
  17. Bailey

     /  September 8, 2011

    I’m so jealous that I not only missed out on seeing the family, but on eating great food too! Everything you posted looks sooooooooooo amazing and I’m feeling very hungry now. Thanks a lot! xoxo Love you :-)

    Reply
  18. All you eats looks sooo good and really healhty compared to what my family ate ;( I felt horrible by monday night and have been sticking to salads and greek yogurt for the past 2 days!! I cant wait to get my butt kicked by some cardio classes at the gym soon! I love that movie and im soo pumped to go get a pumpkin spice latte :)

    Reply
  19. Life is short!! gotta have indulgent weekends every once in awhile :-). And yes, I totally know what you mean, AND needing to detoxify afterwards haha! you are not alone!

    My weekend was nothin special, but this coming saturday is my roommate’s birthday! we’re going out to a girls-only dinner tomorrow, then saturday we’re having a huge group dinner and tailgating for a country concert….yeah that’s gonna need some sunday detox haha. But worth it!

    AND YES PUMPKIN SPICE IS MY FAVORITE THING EVER!!!!! so glad its back!!!!!
    I can’t wait to see what you do with the cheesecake stuffed peaches, that HAS to be the most epic thing I’ve ever seen!

    Reply
  20. I can’t tell you how happy I am that pumpkin spice is back in my life!

    Reply
  21. runningperspective

     /  September 8, 2011

    um overindulge = right over hereeee totally with you on the lets detoxxx! and um that BEAN SALSA LOOKS AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!
    and girl i cannot get over how awesome your hair looks! i LOVE IT<3

    Reply
  1. Old Friends | healthycollegegirl
  2. A Burger with Grandpa | healthycollegegirl
  3. Turkey Day Recap « healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

