Pumpkin Pie. For Breakfast.

Yes. We need to talk about this.

There are few words…

 

…that could appropriately describe how phenomenal this breakfast actually was.

Lengendary. Sensational. Stupendous. Astonishing.

Epicurean, perhaps?

It all started with a recipe that I read in Women’s Health for baked oatmeal.

Until this morning, I had never attempted to bake my beloved oats. I think it’s because the required 5 minutes for stovetop oats take up all of the patience I can muster when my belly is growling in the early morning.

This morning, however, I was feeling surprisingly patient and creative. After replenishing my stock of pumpkin at Whole Foods yesterday, I couldn’t get the thought of pumpkin baked oatmeal out of my head.

I used the recipe in Women’s Health as a bit of a guide, but really ended up just winging it.

All I can say to you, my friends, is that my life will never be the same.

(It’s possible that I’m being the slightest bit dramatic.)

“Pumpkin Pie for Breakfast” Oatmeal

  • 1/3 cup Old Fashioned oats
  • 1/3 cup original almond milk
  • 1 egg white
  • ~1/3 cup canned pumpkin
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/2 banana

 I didn’t really do anything special to these ingredients…I just let them work their extraordinary magic. I mixed them all up and, since I couldn’t find my glass ramekin, plopped them into this adorable mini pie dish. I sliced half of a very ripe banana on top of the mixture and baked it for about 25 minutes at 350 degrees. (Checking it impatiently every 5 second, because it literally smelled like a pumpkin pie was baking in our oven.)

The only thing I would change about this recipe is that next time I would probably just mash the banana up and mix it into the oatmeal. Although the slices definitely make it more aesthetically pleasing :)

Thanks for all of your awesome comments regarding how I plan to train differently for my next half-marathon! I loved reading about your guys’ current and favorite training tips and techniques.

Speaking of which, I am required to create a “how to” manual for one of my classes on a topic of my choice and am planning on writing it on  “how to train for your first half-marathon.” I want to gear it specifically towards women and focus on safe and enjoyable training techniques.

My project will cover everything from race selection, nutrition, clothing, shoes, safety and training plan selection. I would absolutely love input or advice that any of you have, based on things that you have read or personally experienced from training for half or full marathons!

I can use any resources I want, including personal interviews, and I know that there are tons of amazing runners out there that could teach me all about safe training tips! So please share!!!

I hope you had a wonderful week and that it continues on into a blessed weekend! Love you all!!

Best breakfast this week? Best recipe/food discovery this week?

Please don’t forget to share your safe training tips with me!! :)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

33 Comments

  1. That looks..so. good. lol And I have all the ingredients for it! I’ve been wanting to add pumpkin to my oatmeal but with all the abundance of summer fruits still available, I’m holding out!

    Reply
  2. Oh man that breakfast sounds amazing!!

    Reply
  3. MUST. MAKE. THIS. NOW! looks soo good! :)

    Reply
  4. I love all the pumpkin recipes swirling around the blog world , but this has to be my favorite so far!! I love oatmeal and adding pumpkin sounds sooo good!! This week I had my first Honeycrisp ever and boy have I been missing out!!

    Reply
  5. Wow this looks amazinggggg. Seriously, this is being made later today :D

    Reply
  6. OK before I say anything else, I have to tell you that I got on my computer and was like “ok kate. grad school applications. NO READING BLOGS”. and then I saw the title of this post and it was all over lol

    THAT LOOKS AMAZING!! I’m so sad that I used up my pumpkin for baking last night, I want this sooo bad! Like I might even run out to the store JUST to get pumpkin JUST so I can have this…

    and actually the best breakfast AND food discovery I’ve made lately is oatmeal! I used to hate oatmeal…I know, I know…but I’ve been mixing it with all sorts of things: pumpkin butter, maple syrup, peanut butter, blueberry jam, chocolate pudding…mmmm.

    And omg I would LOVEE to share training tips for that project!! The half marathon is my favorite distance – I’ve run four and have at least three more planned for the year – so I’ve definitely found a lot of little tricks that worked for me, especially with nutrition (duh since its my pet interest lol), the long run, speedwork, and the taper. I can email you or something if you want!

    Hope you have an awesome weekend! :-) :-)

    Reply
  7. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance

     /  September 24, 2011

    This literally looks like a baked good, but the fact that it’s a breakfast makes it THAT much more delectable. I hope you saved a slice for me ;)

    Reply
  8. Mmm, that sounds so good! I just love pumpkin pie–especially on Thanksgiving after a delicious dinner–paired with a cup of hot, black coffee!

    Reply
  9. Oh my goodness, oh my goodness. I think I’m in love with you. That looks so outrageously amazing and I just bought two big cans of organic pumpkin. I am SO ready for this ^~ Love your blog!!

    Reply
  10. WOW that looks seriously awesome! I love fall specifically for all the new, comforting flavors :) especially pumpkin!

    Reply
  11. jenandberries

     /  September 24, 2011

    Sounds like such a cool class project and fun too! And woohoooo you are going to rock that half marathon. Theat pumpkin pie…:o, i think I just salivated a bit, thanks so much for the recipe, it looks so frikkin good. Hope you’re having a great weekend girl!! ;)

    Reply
  12. Pumpkin pie for breakfast? Yes, please! Good luck on the half marathon :)
    I recently made skillet gnocchi that I loved loved loved. Have a great weekend!

    Reply
  13. give me a bite!!!!

    Reply
  14. Pumpkin Oats!!! YAY. I just bought every single last can of pumpkin at the store yesterday and I’ve been holding out on opening a can until I have a worth recipe. This is it!! I can’t wait to try this out!!

    Reply
  15. ohmygosh…that looks 10x better than the breakfast I had this morning. So warm and delicious!
    ooooh- are you gunna share your how-to with us?? I’d be so interested in your how-tos because I would LOVE to train for a half marathon one day.

    Reply
  16. YOU are a culinary god to me right now..this is amazing!! I am going to try this ASAP!!!

    Reply
  17. survivingcandyland

     /  September 25, 2011

    Your oats look amazing. I am in awe at the beauty of those things. Your food pictures are awesome, I wish I had the culinary skills to make attractive food. Instead mine just comes out super ugly, but at least it tastes good.

    Reply
  18. This looks delectable! What a great way to start the day. I’ll most definitely be trying this. :)

    Reply
  19. runningperspective

     /  September 25, 2011

    oh my gosh girl this looks AMAZINGGGGG i totally need to ake this like really though i am drooling!!!looks SO GOOD<3

    Reply
  20. I die for pumpkin pie!!! soo delish! And that is adorable!!!

    mmm i need to buy some canned pumpkin today maybe! :D

    Reply
  21. omg… that looks SO good!!

    Reply
  22. I had to do a double take at your post title…………O.M.G. I Wouldn’t have time for this on weekday mornings, but next weekend (as I too, have restocked my Pumpkin supply) I am all over this!! I think I would also add in some cinnamon… and maybe a dash of Vanilla… Mmmmmmm

    I think the biggest tip is LISTEN TO YOUR BODY regardless of what the schedule says! But let me know if you need anything, I would be so happy to help with safe training tips, although I’ve only done ONE race! But I finished, injury free! Woo! :)

    Reply
  23. thebeautynotebooks

     /  September 26, 2011

    I would love to make this! I am studying abroad in Scotland right now and was worried that I wouldn’t be able to find canned pumpkin. Couldn’t find it in any of the grocery store chains. But lo and behold, I stumbled into this little international foods store by accident last week, and suddenly I spy a row of canned pumpkin! So excited :) thanks for sharing this recipe!

    Reply
  24. Words cannot say how excited I am to make this. I was looking for some sort of oatmeal/pumpkin bake recipie this morning and couldn’t find what hit the spot…. and poof, there it is O_O Beautiful…

    Reply
  25. Errign

     /  September 27, 2011

    That looks SO good. Best breakfast for me this week was an egg white sandwich on a pita with tomato! Yum.

    Reply
  26. Oh my gosh that sounds phenomenal, I love all things pumpkin :) Thanks for sharing!!

    Reply
  27. This sounds awesome! I will definitely have to make this for breakfast this week! I’ve been on a pumpkin craze since fall started, haha. Thanks so much for sharing. Hope you have a great day!
    Lauren

    http://laurensweetnothings.blogspot.com/

    Reply
  1. Pumpkin Pie for breakfast? « Oats 'n Bows
  2. Starbucks Controls the Seasons « healthycollegegirl

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

