Rediscovering my love for running

“Every morning in Africa, a gazelle wakes up. It knows that it must run faster than the fastest lion or it will be killed. Every morning, a lion wakes up. It knows that it must outrun the slowest gazelle or it will starve to death. It doesn’t matter whether you are a lion or a gazelle…when the sun comes up, you’d better be running.”

(Source)

This morning, I was up with the sun rediscovering my love for running. You see, when I first began running, I didn’t pay much attention at all to my pace or my mileage. I simply focused on how amazing running made me feel. It made me feel strong and independent. It gave me alone time just to think and breathe and pray.

When I became more interested in competitive running and starting training for races, I began running with more of a purpose. Runs were rarely just for enjoyment; there was always an agenda – farther distance, quicker pace, etc.

When I got injured, I truly missed running so much. I felt a bit depressed and struggled with realizing that my self-worth is not determined by running.

Now that I am finally able to run without pain (!!), I find myself having to really focus on rediscovering what it is about running that I loved in the first place. When I first started back into running, I felt upset with myself that I couldn’t go as far or as fast as I used to. I can still only run about a max of 4.5 to 5 miles and am only allowed to increase my mileage .5 miles every week or so. Initially, I felt frustrated by these restrictions and by the fact that running 5 miles actually feels challenging after taking the whole summer off. That used to be a short run for me!

Then I realized something…it doesn’t matter how much I’m running or how fast or how far.

I’m running!!!

I am finally healthy enough to enjoy this hobby that I motivates me to spring up out of bed before the sun comes up to put on my tennis shoes.

So this morning, I put on my shoes and my favorite running tights…

and I ran. I didn’t think about how far I was going or how fast. I just thought about how much I love to run and how great it makes me feel.

The only other thoughts that I allowed to wander into my mind a time or two involved breakfast.

1 fried egg + egg white, whole wheat english muffin w/ jam, raspberries

 :)

In other news…

 2 years ago today, me and this one guy I know officially became a couple.

:)

Have a wonderful Wednesday, my friends!!

Leave a comment

26 Comments

  1. Happy two years! You guys look as adorable as ever ;)

    And I’m with you on enjoying running as it is, and not for the pace or distance. Last year while training for my marathon, I dreaded going out for runs because I had too many goals and pre-set expectations for myself. It was not enjoyable at all, and I did it because I had to.

    Lately, I’ve been running without an expected pace or distance, and it is so much more enjoyable!

    By the way, I LOVE your running tights!

    Reply
  2. This is exactly what I need to do. After my injury and a busy summer I’ve just been so disappointed in my running [or lack thereof]. I’m trying to get out there and ignore mileage/pace. It’s hard but I started from rock bottom once and I want to rekindle the passion I found in running. Have a fabulous day!

    Reply
  3. Aw, happy 2 years to you guys!! You are adorable :). And I’m glad that you are able to run again and you are rediscovering what you love so much about it! That’s awesome!

    Reply
  4. I love this post, Jordan!! I am going to run tonight for these exact reasons!! And those running tights are frick’n AWESOME!! At times when I was training for my marathon, I had no desire to run simply because I felt FORCED to stick to a schedule.. it ALMOST took the joy out of running for me!! Now that the race is all said and done, I am back to running just because and I am truly enjoying these runs :) I am glad you are back out there!! YEAH!!

    HAPPY 2 YEARS to you and the one guy you know (haha)!!! That is so sweet, and AWESOME <3

    Reply
  5. I know what you mean about losing the enjoyment for your favourite way to exercise and looking at it in another way (competing, burning calories, etc.). I’ll be honest and say that I don’t understand runners when they stress so much about it … I mean, unless you’re a professional runner, it’s supposed to be for fun.

    Happy 2 years! That picture is beyond adorable!

    Reply
  6. awww i loved this post. glad you are rediscovering your love with running, it’s so great to have some kind of physical exercise that truly just refreshes and rejuvenates you!

    and you and your boyf are the cutest!! congrats on 2 years =)

    Reply
  7. runningperspective

     /  September 28, 2011

    yay 2 years!!!!! congrats girllll!!!!! that is awesome! i love you guys you are honestly the cutest like EVER! and I TOTALLY know what you are saying about running for enjoyment and losing that a bit when you focus on pacing/ distance! i totally got SO DEPRESSED when i was not running at all! and now that i am slowly incorporating it…yeah totally feel frustration on the only 4.5-5 mi runs that are def slower than my old pace..but in the end you are SO RIGHT! AT LEAST I AM RUNNING because in the end that is what is important!!! thanks girl! love youuu<3

    Reply
  8. 1. Happy anniversary!!!!
    2. You are freaking adorable!
    3. I wish I could rediscover a love for running…but I’d have to have discovered one in the first place… =/

    Reply
  9. Im so glad to hear you are able to run again!! I love running so much more when theres no agenda attached to it. Congrats on 2 years!! You two are so cute and im so happy for you!!

    Reply
  10. happy 2 years to the cutest couple EVER!!!

    Reply
  11. Ok for real..every time you post I think to myself, “WHY can’t we hangout and be bestfriends!?” I pretty much love you..and I love that you are running..for YOU. I need to do that more, and not focus on time or distance. HAPPY ANNI to you and boocakes!

    Reply
  12. Happy 2 year Anniversary! Very exciting! You 2 are adorable! :)

    Reply
  13. So glad you are running without pain! It definitely is easy to get caught up in the numbers. Happy Anniversary too!

    Reply
  14. A lot of things:

    1. That dress you are wearing in the last pic = adorable!
    2. Congrats on your 2 year dating anniversary! That’s so awesome! Our 3 year is this Monday!
    3. LOVE the tye dye tights! What a fun item to run in!
    4. That breakfast looks delicious!
    Have a great day!

    Reply
  15. CONGRATS on your two year anniversary!!! you two are absolutely adorable :) :)

    And omg girl I am right there with you on the coming back from injury!! I can only run about 30 minutes at a time…and though it doesn’t feel hard, I know it would be so dumb to push it lol. Also, LOVE the running tights, those are BALLER!! and I totally play the “breakfast game” on my runs too hahaha. those eggs look delicious!

    and I’m totally emailing you about your project! :-D

    Reply
  16. Aw congratulations! I just read your page about you two and you got me smiling like an idiot! :P

    Reply
  17. What a great post!! I’m glad you can enjoy running, just to run!

    I’m struggling with this right now, though. I’m a little injured and feel SO weird not running. Sure I’ve been hitting the gym, but theres something so addictive about running that I feel like I’m going through withdrawal! Oh well.

    Oh, and don’t forget to stop by and enter my FIRST GIVEAWAY!!!! :)

    Reply
  18. You’re such an inspiration!!! I love that quote at the beginning as well. Thank you.
    Thank you for just being here, and blogging :)

    Reply
  19. Jennie (jenandberries)

     /  September 29, 2011

    Awwww happy anniersary – 2 years woop woop! Hope you do something nice to celebrate :) I love the quote at the top about the gazelle and lion too!

    Reply
  20. Aw congrats on your two years :-)
    You too look wonderful together!
    Great that you’re running again too!

    Reply
  21. Errign

     /  September 30, 2011

    Happy Anniversary, two days late!

    I rarely run without my Garmin. I don’t really care about my pace, but I love to know how far I went. I’m still a fairly new runner (a year or so into it) and there’s something so satisfying about knowing how far I went.

    Reply
  22. Weee happy two years, that is so exciting! I hope you had a lovely day

    Reply
  23. aw happy belated anniversary :) :) and I’m glad you rediscovered your love for running! I’m still discovering my love for it.. haha

    Reply
  24. Your running tights are adorable!! I want to try and see if I can pull that off now. I’m trying to get into running myself after a long time of denying that I could ever be a runner, and I’m loving it :)

    Congrats on your anniversary!!! That’s amazing :) I’m coming up on my 1 yr anniversary of meeting my boyfriend (not even dating haha) and I’m so excited. :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

