Oops

So…remember that one time I said I hoped to be posting more often?

Yeah…

Oops.

As I said last time I posted, I have been working full time Monday-Saturday because the manager of the store I work at is on vacation, so I’m taking over.

We’re open everyday from 10-7…so it’s definitely been a long couple of weeks! My school schedule is definitely busy, but I’m rarely working nonstop for 9 straight hours 6 days a week. It’s exhausting!! It also makes it hard to find the time to do the things I really want to do during my break from school like…

1. Working out regularly!! I’m in the process of half-marathon training and want to have more time and energy to dedicate to training.

(source) 

2. Cooking and eating! I am a foodie. I look forward to planning and preparing my meals as much as I do eating them! Since I have been working so much, my diet has basically consisted of sandwiches, wraps, cans of soups, and lots of snacky things like granola bars, apples, and clementines. So sorry for the lack of foodie pics!

+

= Not very gourmet.

3. CHILLING. I felt so burnt out after last semester, and although I got some good relaxation time while my fam was here…I want more!

Working all of these hours is definitely giving me some appreciation for how great my schedule is as a student. I’m sure that when I get a job auditing after I graduate, I will be working MUCH more than I even realize right now.

So I guess this is good practice for real life! :)

Another thing that working long hours has taught me this week is that when I am tired and hungry, I tend to reach for junk food.

A lot of it. Literally all I have been wanting to eat lately is pizza and dark chocolate m&m’s. What’s up with that?!

I think that being less restrictive with my diet over Christmas break has definitely increased my cravings for treats and decreased my desire to eat fruits and veggies.

With my sweet tooth going bazerk, I have come up with a few not-so-guilty sweet treats that I feel okay about ending my night with after a long day at work.

Here are my favorites:

Swiss Miss Diet Hot Cocoa: This stuff is so good! I make it with part almond milk and part water, so it ends up being around 65 calories althogether.

Weight Watchers Latte Bars: You guys know I am a sucker for anything coffee related, and these seriously taste like a frozen latte. They disappear at our house.

Coffee Mate Pumpkin Spice creamer: Sometimes just a cup of decaf coffee with a splash of pumpkin spice creamer is enough to tame my sweet tooth. I’m sad that it is seasonal!

 Dove Dark Chocolate: I’m not gonna lie, it’s hard to have just one!! But typically one of these babies is enough to calm down my chocolate cravings :)

And last but not least…

Strawberries: but not just by themselves. Lately, I’ve been eating strawberries smothered in…

Peanut butter!!

Seriously guys…this is like peanut butter and jelly. Sweet strawberries with salty PB…pure heaven. Definitely like dessert.

I hope you’re having a great week! :)

What are some of your favorite guilt-free treats?

Do you work full time? If so, was it a shock transitioning from school to work?

 What’s up with that?!

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

18 Comments

  1. Wow so many hours plus school and half marathon training? You definitely have a lot on your plate! Anything dipped in PB is soo good. I LOVE hershey’s bliss dark chocolate. Perfect little size! Dip that in PB too and it heaven :D

    Reply
  2. runningperspective

     /  January 10, 2012

    um ARE YOU SUPER WOMAN? cause i think you areeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    and strawberries and pb = best combo everrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr<3333
    love you girl you are seriously AMAZINGGG

    Reply
  3. Stefanie Lia

     /  January 11, 2012

    I felt the same way about craving sweets/junk once the holidays rolled around. I definitely don’t regret having those extra yummy homemade cookies & hearty meals but since I usually eat fairly clean, the cravings fired up 24/7! I reversed it by doing a as strict as possible CLEAN diet of veggies, fruits, whole grains, proteins + lots of water for just 4-6 days as a little “detox” (without cutting down of calories or portions), then going back to my moderation-is-key eating style and the cravings literally VANISHED! At first its tough when you just want more sugar, but once your body recognizes the energizing fresh clean foods, its so easy to deny those sweets :)

    Reply
  4. I have not restricted myself to healthy foods AT ALL over this holiday break, but I haven’t gone crazy surprisingly. Allowing myself to eat sweets whenever I want obviously leads to more consumption of goodies, but definitely not overboard because they are no longer that “forbidden fruit” haha. It makes sense, I guess!

    My favorite guilt free dessert to end the night with is a little cup of slow-churned ice cream with some fruit mixed in. I also like a couple squares of dark chocolate with almonds. Right now I’m craving dark chocolates and nothing TOO sugary/sweet. I really like your options. Hot chocolate is a great one! Some marshmallows melted in is always fun, too :)

    PS- My fam used to buy those WW latte bars all the time. Holy moly those are amazing!

    Reply
  5. I can relate! I feel like my life has gotten even busier AFTER the holidays! Ahh…life needs to slow down, asap!

    Reply
  6. ohh man, I know how this goes! This summer I worked full time in a retail job (and totally hated it haha), and I was exhausted! being on my feet 8 hours a day + trying to increase my mileage + eating crappy food because I had no time = kate gets really tired and cranky and then gets injured hahaha. And yeah, when I’m tired all I want is peanut butter and chocolate and ice cream haha. I love that diet hot cocoa stuff though!! people give me so much crap about eating “diet” and “low calorie” stuff…if only they knew how good it was haha! And Aaaah someone else who eats PB+ strawberries!!! that’s one of my fave combos! :-D

    Reply
  7. Dang girl you are super woman!! You need a break more than anyone.. but think of all the great money you’re making! I’ve been craving all sorts of sweets lately.. it’s horrible! I must try the WW latte bars asap…

    Reply
  8. Never feel bad for not posting as often as you’d like. Especially as a student: school, work, and social life can really get in the way sometimes and you just want to hit your pillow as soon as you get home. If you like the latte bars you HAVE to try Espos Gelato squeeze thingos (sorry dont know what to call them!) in mocha cappuccino. So fah-reaking delicious and probs a better ingredient list then Le Weight Watchers ;)

    Reply
  9. I love peanut butter as a snack, too! I’m loving a granola bar with tea with honey as a snack!

    Reply
  10. I’m definitely going to have to try strawberries with peanut butter!! That combo looks amazinggg! :) I only have a part time job, but when I go to work, I usually have to work the whole weekend which end up being like 20 hours in 3 days, which can be tough when I have upcoming tests, but it is good experience!

    Reply
  11. good to know that hot chocolate is good! andd i want that creamer. i love those dove chocolate bc they are just enough! :)

    Reply
  12. I’m so happy I found your blog I’m training for a half too! & I always want dark chocolate and pb SO GOOD!! I just started school again so I’m super busy too its hard to get in good blogging time! Take care :)

    Reply
  13. Guilt free treats ? I’d say dark chocolate =)

    Reply
  14. Smore

     /  January 16, 2012

    Those are all great snack ideas. I don’t work full time but between class and work and clubs I would say I’m pretty busy too! I am such a foodie too, I really look forward to planning and making my meals!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

