Family Bonding…Bottling

Well hello!!

How has your week been?

TGIF, right?!?!

Sorry I haven’t posted again this week! Life has been a bit crazy. I’m still trying to get into the routine of my new classes and work schedule. Exciting news though! I bought a spin pass at the gym on campus, so I can bust out these babies again!

bike shooooeeesss!!!

I went to a 45 minute “ripped ride” on wednesday, which was 30 minutes of intense cycling followed by 15 minutes of abs. It was great! I’m excited to start incorporating it back into my routine.

So do you guys have any exciting plans for the weekend?

Mine is looking like a little bit of a repeat of last weekend…a little homework, some chores, and maybe a little bit of family bonding.

First off, have I told you guys that my dad owns a winery? Last year was the first real year that they sold wine in liquor stores here in Northern Colorado, so they’re pretty new. But they were so popular in 2011 that they actually ran out of wine!

So last weekend, my mom and I joined my dad up at the winery to help bottle this year’s wines. I have to admit that I have never gone up there to help bottle. I’m a terrible daughter.

It’s quite the set up they’ve got going! It was fun to be a part of.

This is my dad getting the bottler set up.

The wine flows out of the barrels and through these tubes into the bottles.

Above is my dad’s friend Dave corking the bottles.

My dad always has tons of friends that want to volunteer to come help (hence the fact that I’ve never been obligated to help)

Of course, payment for volunteer time is free wine. No wonder they are so willing! :)

Even my good friend Ben came to help for a bit!

we have to wear rubber gloves to keep fingerprints off the bottles!

Ben working with the "corker"

 After the wine got corked, it came down to me where I sealed the bottles.

Lastly, the wine went down the line to get labeled.

One of the many perks of bottling is that you get to drink the spillage! :)

There are still lots of barrels that need bottling!

So I’m sure I’ll be spending a bit of time there this weekend!

If you want to take a look at the website, go here!

Well, I’m off to do some strength training and then SPIN! :)¬†Have a great weekend, friends! Love you!

Ever been to a winery or brewery and seen some of the process? Are you a fan of wine?

Favorite most recent family bonding memory?

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. I have probably been on more winery tours than I’d like to admit……Hey, I had a friend who lived in the wine country in Australia it was hard to say no!
    I’m definitely going to look for your wine in the liquor stores now :)

    Reply
  2. I haven’t taken spin in so long! Oh myyy I am super jealous that you own a winery!! So cool :D Hope you’re doing well ! <3

    Reply
  3. This looks like SO much fun!! WHY can’t I live down the road from you..I would come help all the time!! FREE wine..yesssss please! YAY for getting back into spin. I am loving spinning right now..maybe I will invest in some bike shoes soon..first I am buying running shoes though. Yahooo!

    Reply
  4. I am a huuuge wine and super jealous that you’re fam has a winery! I am from Long Island and we produce some good wines out on the East end of the island – going to the wineries out there for some tastings is so fun!

    Reply
  5. Oh this looks like such a lovely way to spend time with family! It looks like so much fun :-) I haven’t been to spin in such a long time, I really want to try and get going this term! Hope you have a lovely weekend! <3

    Reply
  6. your dad owns a winery?!? umm JEALOUS! this looks like SO much fun, I’ve been on a tour of a winery before but we didn’t really get to see anyone in action! I think you guys should go national so I can try the wine :-D and YAY for spinning!! I’ve been loving riding my road bike on the trainer lately, there’s nothing like a good sweaty spin sesh!

    Reply
  7. YAY for spin! I’ve been loving it lately. I take a similar class at my gym- 30 minutes of abs followed by 30 minutes of spin. It kicks my butt!
    And that is so cool that your Dad owns a winery! It looks like you guys had a blast helping out (and tasting, of course!)

    Reply
  8. That is so neat that your parents own a winery! How fun!

    I have a spin class written down in my planner for next week so that I remember to go! I used to go all the time but then forgot how much I loved it. I can’t wait!

    Reply
  9. survivingcandyland

     /  January 28, 2012

    So jealous that your parents own a winery. I would be there all the time. Not even lying.
    I’m sort of a vino head.

    I went to my first winery in Israel and it was the bomb. I didn’t want to leave. I even asked the guide if I could stay. I was sort of tipsy, but he was like ummm NO. My recent family bonding was when we played board games all night with my friends during the break. It was epic.

    Reply
  10. This is so neat! I love wine, more than I probably should. Enjoy your weekend :)

    Reply
  11. I so wish there was a spin class near me so I could try it! It seems so fun! I’m also jealous that your dad owns a winery! That’s so cool! I don’t really drink wine, but one of my brothers enjoys it. It look so fancy when people drink it! haha You look so cute in the pics too! :)

    Reply
  12. Smore

     /  January 29, 2012

    That is so cool that your family does that! I’ve been to a few winery’s and have loved them! They are all so pretty and so much fun!

    Reply
  13. HEY BEAUTIFUL! Gosh miss you SO SO MUCH!! ahhh what a fun family thing to do! Oh my goodness! so unique and special. love you sista!

    Reply
  14. Hi! I just came across your blog because you’re a college runner (me too!) and was so excited to see the pictures of your dad’s winery because one of my best friends at school is from Loveland, CO. Maybe you two know each other?
    Either way, it looks like you had a lot of fun working with your dad. Sadly, my dad’s office is pretty boring, but I sometimes go to work with him to do school stuff when I’m at home.

    Reply
  15. that looks like so much fun!! hope you’re having a good week! :)

    Reply
  16. Hey!!! I just wanted to say I hope you are doing wonderfully and I miss you!!!!

    Reply
  17. Where did you go ? I miss your blog :(

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

