Starbucks Controls the Seasons

Image

(source)

You guys…

Image

(source)

Please tell me that I’m not the only one who is completely and utterly overjoyed at the return of the PSL!

The funny thing is that an awesome local coffee shop near my house offers their pumpkin pie latte all year round…

Image

(source)

And I would have to say that I think it is equally as delicious as Starbuck’s fan favorite. But it’s just something about seeing that sign…

Image

(source)

Maybe it’s the limited availability of Sbux’s PSL that gives it the competitive advantage over its equally as delicious opponents. 

But for me, I think that a large part of the PSL’s appeal rests in the fact that it signifies the return of my favorite season.

Image

(source)

Don’t get me wrong; I love summer. I love donning my bikini and sipping on some iced coffee while I catch up on some celeb gossip by the pool.

But I absolutely ADORE all things fall.

Lately, my Pinterest homepage has been loaded with fall related recipes, outfits (I CAN’T WAIT TO BUST OUT MY BOOTS!), and decorations.

I got my first PSL yesterday morning, and although Colorado was still running at a steamy 90 degrees, I could feel the arrival of fall.

My friend Afton said it perfectly…

Image

Congratulations Starbucks. You control the seasons.

Since she knows my affinity for all things pumpkin, she delivered a pumpkin snicker doodle cookie to me in class the other day (which I will be recreating ASAP!)

Image

 (source)

So obviously, the past week or so has been absolutely stuffed full of pumpkin related things. As you guys know, once I get onto the pumpkin wagon…I go all out.

Since I woke up to a crisp, fall-feeling Saturday morning today, I decided breakfast would have to be equally as autumn inspired.

Enter Pumpkin Spice Latte Pancakes! Recipe courtesy of HealthyFoodforLiving.com.

I actually halved this recipe, because 4 pancakes seemed like a bit much for me. Especially since I planned on topping them with peanut butter (DUH!)

My version wasn’t nearly as beautiful as Lauren’s, but I am willing to bet that they tasted every bit as good!

I was extremely impressed by how dense and fluffy they turned out! After topping them with a drizzle of maple syrup, I dug right in and completely forgot about taking any more pictures.

You know your food is good when you don’t want to put down you fork to pick up your camera.

I smeared a bit of PB on them about halfway through, and that definitely took them up a notch (if that’s even possible). 

highly recommend that you guys try this recipe! It is absolutely delicious. And with all natural ingredients and only about 180 calories before the toppings, it was a fall inspired breakfast that I didn’t need to feel guilty about enjoying.

Happy Fall, my friends! :)

Favorite pumpkin/fall recipe??!

I realized I need to add more apple/apple cider related recipes into my fall inspired life. Let me know if you guys have any good ones for me to try!

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I was just thinking about you the other day while I was cleaning up my Google Reader! I was so excited to see a new post from you this morning! This recipe sounds delicious! We’re slowly getting into the Fallish temps over here…I’m sporting corduroy skinnies today in anticipation of it being 68 degrees today! Fall is my absolute favorite season as well!

    Favorite pumpkin recipe = pumpkin chocolate chip bread! I’m hoping to make some next week and put the recipe on my blog!

    Hope all is well with you!

    I’ve been meaning to ask you…are you on Instagram?

    Reply
  2. FALL IS MY FAVORITE!!!! OMGGG I LOVE IT!! Seriously, I am so excited. My house is already completely fall’d out…I have no patience. I lovee pumpkin pancakes..prob my fav pumpkin recipe.

    Reply
  3. I’m obsessed with fall. Even though we don’t get a “real” season here in Florida. :( Is it crazy that I’ve never had a legit pumpkin spice latte?! Ahhh! Need one, stat.

    Reply
  4. I LOVE fall! I had my first pumpkin spice latte the other day and it was amazzzzzzzzzing :). I really like making home pumpkin ice cream (with bananas) mmmm

    Reply
  5. Ahhh I’m all late but I’m so happy to have seen a post from you! I wish I was one of those people who can make their own Pumpkin Spice Latte and save a few bucks. But then no one can make anything as great as Starbucks. ;)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

